BALTIMORE, MD (12/4/19) —LSU Tigers, Joe Burrow has won the 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and A. O. Smith Corporation to the nation’s top quarterback who best exemplifies character, scholastic and athletic achievement.


Burrow on the verge of becoming the most decorated offensive player in LSU history as he’s set numerous school records as a senior in 2019.  Joe led LSU to a perfect 12-0 mark and a No. 1 national ranking during the regular season. First player in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 TDs in the same season, broke the SEC single-season passing yards record in 2019 with 4,614 and tied the SEC single-season mark for passing TDs with 44.  Joe owns numerous LSU records, including passing yards, passing TDs, total offense, and completions, led LSU to eight wins over Top 10 teams during his career, the most of any quarterback in school history.  Currently 22-3 as LSU’s starting quarterback and is only the second quarterback in LSU history to guide the Tigers to back-to-back 10-wins seasons, ranking No. 5 in LSU history in passing yards with 7,260 and did it in just two years. Joe completed 20+ passes in 15-straight games, the first quarterback in school history with four or more, and owns 12, 300-yard career passing games and ten in 2019, which are both the most in school history.


Candidates for the Golden Arm Award – which has been presented at the end of each college football season since 1987 – must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to the accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, teamwork and leadership qualities.


Burrow’ achievements will be honored on Wednesday, December 11, in Baltimore, MD. For the 2019 Golden Arm Award Ceremony the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and A. O. Smith are happy to be hosting this year’s event at the Four Seasons Hotel Baltimore. Former 2012 Golden Arm Award recipient, Collin Klein – will deliver the keynote remarks at this year’s event.


Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015) Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State 2017) and last years winner Gardner Minshew, II (Washington State).


Other sponsors of the Golden Arm Award Presented by A. O. Smith Corporation include: The Babe Ruth Museum, Century Engineering, CoForce, Comcast, Dunbar Guard Service, Dunbar Security Systems, Haddock Investments, Harvey Agency, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., MedStar Sports Medicine, Milwaukee Tool, PSAV, Panini, TTI, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, SILKS, Wilson Sporting Goods, Wolf Professional Security and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

About A. O. Smith
A. O. Smith Corporation is a leading global manufacturer and marketer of residential and commercial water heaters as well as water treatment products. A. O. Smith offers its customers an additional competitive advantage in that the company designs, builds, distributes and supports the world’s broadest and deepest line of residential and commercial water heaters, commercial boilers, and water treatment products. This single source concept simplifies ordering, installation and service and is backed by 80 years of research and innovation. For the most up-to-date news, like A. O. Smith on Facebook, follow on Twitter and visit

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, please visit: Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on TwitterInstagram and Facebook and use the hashtags #GoldenArmAward and #InnovationLeaders.