BALTIMORE, MD (10/08/19)After six weeks of play, the 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith has narrowed its season watch list to 20 of the country’s top college quarterbacks based on player performance on-and-off the field.


Top 20 Golden Arm Award Candidates:

  • Jack Abraham, Southern Miss
  • Ian Book, Notre Dame
  • Anthony Brown, Boston College
  • Kelly Bryant, Missouri
  • Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Jacob Eason, University of Washington
  • Caleb Evans, Louisiana Monroe
  • Mason Fine, North Texas
  • Quentin Harris, Duke
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon
  • Tyler Huntley, Utah
  • Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma
  • Brian Lewerke, Michigan State
  • Cole McDonald, Hawaii
  • Steven Montez, Colorado
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan
  • Bryce Perkins, Virginia
  • Nate Stanley, Iowa
  • Zach Thomas, Appalachian State
  • Brady White, Memphis


Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presenting sponsor A. O. Smith continue to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards for their industry, just like Unitas did in football.

Proceeds donated to the Golden Arm Award help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which provides assistance to underprivileged and deserving student-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm AwardÒ presented by A. O. Smith will be presented on Wednesday, December 11, in Baltimore, Maryland.


Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015) Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016) Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State 2017) and last year’s winner Gardner Minshew, II (Washington State).


Other sponsors of the Golden Arm Award Presented by A. O. Smith Corporation include: MedStar Sports Medicine, The Babe Ruth Museum, Century Engineering, Comcast, Dunbar Security Solutions, Dunbar Protective Services, The Four Season Harbor East, Haddock Investments, Harvey Agency, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., Milwaukee Tool, PSAV, Panini, TTI, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, SILKS, Wilson Sporting Goods, and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

About A. O. Smith
A. O. Smith Corporation is a leading global manufacturer and marketer of residential and commercial water heaters as well as water treatment products. A. O. Smith offers its customers an additional competitive advantage in that the company designs, builds, distributes and supports the world’s broadest and deepest line of residential and commercial water heaters, commercial boilers, and water treatment products. This single source concept simplifies ordering, installation and service and is backed by 80 years of research and innovation. For the most up-to-date news, like A. O. Smith on Facebook, follow on Twitter and visit

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, please visit: Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on TwitterInstagram and Facebook and use the hashtags #GoldenArmAward and #InnovationLeaders.