List of Candidates for The 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith Cut to Top 15

BALTIMORE, MD. (October 24, 2018) – The Top 30 candidates for The 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith has been reduced to 15 of the country’s top college quarterbacks, after eight weeks of play. 

Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award, named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football, are:

  • Jake Browning, Washington
  • Eric Dungey, Syracuse
  • Ryan Finley, NC State
  • Will Grier, West Virginia
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon
  • Drew Lock, Missouri
  • Trace McSorley, Penn State
  • McKenzie Milton, UCF
  • Gardner Minshew, Washington State
  • Steven Montez, Colorado
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan
  • Brett Rypien, Boise State
  • Jordan Ta’amu, Ole Miss
  • Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
  • Brady White, Memphis

The Golden Arm Award® is organized by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presented by A. O. Smith.  The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nations top college quarterback, based on accomplishments both on and off the field.

“The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith considers character, citizenship, integrity, leadership, and honor,” said John C. Unitas, Jr., President of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. “The same characteristics that were displayed by my father are highly valued by A. O. Smith and are every bit as important as the quarterback’s completion rate or number of touchdowns scored,”

Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and A.O. Smith will continue to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards for their industry, just like Unitas did in football.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith ceremony will be held on December 7, 2018 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016) and the 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State).

The hashtag #InnovationLeaders will be visible on all Johnny Unitas Educational Foundation and Golden Arm Award® advertising, marketing, social media, website, and public relations materials and represents the commitment to always being leaders through innovation.  Branded content and advertising will promote the award along with A. O. Smith’s products and services.

Other sponsors of the Golden Arm Award Presented by A. O. Smith Corporation include: MedStar Sports Medicine, The Babe Ruth Museum, Cannonball Moments, Century Engineering, Comcast, Dunbar Armored, Dunbar Security Solutions, Dunbar Protective Services, The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand, Haddock Investments, Harvey Agency, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., PSAV, Panini, TTI, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, SILKS, Wilson Sporting Goods, and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

About A. O. Smith
A. O. Smith Corporation is a leading global manufacturer and marketer of residential and commercial water heaters as well as water treatment products. A. O. Smith offers its customers an additional competitive advantage in that the company designs, builds, distributes and supports the world’s broadest and deepest line of residential and commercial water heaters, commercial boilers, and water treatment products. This single source concept simplifies ordering, installation and service and is backed by 80 years of research and innovation. For the most up-to-date news, like A. O. Smith on Facebook, follow on Twitter and visit

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, please visit: Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook and use the hashtags #GoldenArmAward and #InnovationLeaders.